DIY $30 Headboard

25 Oct

I have been pinning things for the home lately and came across a plethora of leather or tufted headboards. After spending multiple hours online, I came to the conclusion that I wasn’t going to be able to afford a $400 headboard! Here’s a few that I love:

So I decided to look up a few tutorials. I got the gist of how to put it together, but I didn’t want to use wood for the baseboard just yet, I wanted to give it a practice run. So I went to Hobby Lobby and shopped around until I found a large, X white foam board.

Yup, the boards you use in school or office presentations! It was around $9.99 and I thought why not? I couldn’t pass it up! I wandered over to the fabric section and found a black leather material, which is exactly what I was looking for. I cut a little over a yard of fabric so I would have a couple inches left over for the back. Plus it only cost around $7.99! I get home all excited to put it together…. and I forget the stuffing for it! So I take a little trip to JoAnn’s and find a large roll of batting, used for quilts, for $9.99! It looks a little like this…

It was a large roll but I used the whole thing so that the headboard was nice and fluffy. All I did was cut the length of the board and stack them all on top of each other. Once the batting was placed down, I placed the leather over it and then flipped it face down. It may sound weird, but I ended up stapling the leather to the board! Since it’s foam, the staples aren’t that secure. There’s probably a more logical way to do this but it was a trial! Now that I know how to do it, someday I’ll make a wooden one, I just have to figure out how to make the tufts! Until then, I can deal with this!

Leave a Reply

