DIY Ornament Wreath

3 Dec

I can’t get enough of all these ornament crafts so I’m back again with another one! This is such a simple wreath to make, but it does take a little time to do. I made this one for my sister and she loves blue and silver for Christmas. I’ve been to the Dollar Store probably 3 times this week and cleaned them out of all their silver ornaments and needed to find blue ones now. I didn’t want to spend a lot of money on ornaments so I started checking out prices online. I came across these amazing ornaments from Target for only $15! The colors are so beautiful the picture doesn’t give them justice. There are tons of other colors to choose from and there are 50 ornaments in the box. This wreath took almost the full 50, I’m going to figure out what to do with the leftovers! Anyways… to make the wreath all you need is 3 things: a wire hanger, ornaments and a glue gun.

STEP 1

Unwind your wire hanger and form it into a some-what circular shape. What I found works best is to keep the hook part of the hanger the way it is, don’t straighten it out. I found out the hard way once I finished putting all the ornaments on this hanger, I had no idea how I was supposed to close it! So keep the hook part and feed the ornaments on from the other side.

STEP 2

This is super important! You have to remove the top of the ornament and hot glue the rim, then attach it back on. These things pop off easily so you definitely don’t want to waste time putting them all on and then having them pop off!


STEP 3

Start to feed the ornaments on the hanger, alternating with different sizes. The small ones help to fill in the gaps between the larger ones. I used a couple silver ones from the Dollar Store since I had a ton of those left over.

 

It doesn’t look like anything when you have this many on. I know I was a little nervous because it wasn’t looking right but don’t worry! The more you put on and scrunch together, the fuller it looks. Just keep going!

STEP 4

This is where I got excited! It finally came together and was time to attach the ends. Here’s where the hook comes in handy. Grab the two ends and twist them back together. The grooves from the hanger go back together like a puzzle, it was actually easier than I thought it would be.


Here’s what it looks like all done!

A couple of my ornaments popped off when I attached it, I think I went a little crazy piling them all on there but thats ok! Just keep adjusting them until they cover the wire.

Now here’s the part I had the hardest time with: Adding the bow. You want to try and find a wide ribbon to attach to the wreath so it covers the hanger part. I found a pretty white ribbon with an iridescent look to it and thought that would be perfect. I tried so many times to get it to look acceptable but it just wasn’t working for me! I think if I had a different ribbon it would work a bit better, but I pawned it off to my sister for her to try! I hope you all have better luck with a bow because it makes it look more polished!

3 Responses to “DIY Ornament Wreath”

  1. Cathy P December 13, 2012 at 2:32 PM #

    I started last night and I had a thicker wire hanger and once I untwisted the top I still had like a cork screw part and couldn’t get it straight but I thought that is okay I can twist the ornaments around it and just twist that back together once the wreath is complete. So I started hot glueing the tops of my ornaments and twisting them on the hanger. Some of the “hole” on the ornaments started to break. So I think I need to find a thinner hanger and not have the cork screw to be succesfful. 2nd attempt soon. 🙂

  2. Cathy P December 12, 2012 at 9:15 PM #

    Purchased ornaments this weekend at Target and trying to shape my clothes hanger last night. I was trying for a perfect circle and not getting there. I think I just need to glue tops on ornaments and start stringing and see how it turns out. Thanks for the tutorial.

    • Trisha December 13, 2012 at 2:04 AM #

      Don’t worry about making it a perfect circle! Once the ornaments are on you can’t even tell. Glad you like the tutorial, thank you!

Leave a Reply

